Deciding Which ITIL Training Course in Belfast is Right for You

18th October 2020

Are you interested in obtaining another IT certification? Most businesses face difficulties in managing their IT services, thus requiring professional assistance for the completion of these tasks.

In order to become qualified for performing such services, you are required to obtain an Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) certification. This framework is essential for the development of businesses with the help of Information Technology. 

The ITIL framework consists of five levels, requiring training course completion prior to taking the exams. We hope the following information helps you choose the right ITIL level and training course.

Foundation level

The inceptive level of gaining an ITIL certification is known as the foundation, suitable for all individuals interested in IT service management positions. It involves no prerequisites, which means anyone attracted to this field can take the exam. Read here about the history of the Information Technology Infrastructure Library. 

Moreover, in order to take the foundation exam, candidates aren’t obliged to undergo a training course. It lasts sixty minutes, during which you’ll be required to answer forty multiple-choice questions. The exam is considered passed as long as one provides a minimum of 26 correct answers. Nevertheless, keep in mind that the foundation certification doesn’t provide the required qualifications for working in the field of IT service management. 

Practitioner level

The ITIL practitioner level was first introduced in 2016, designed to test the practical knowledge of candidates. In order for a person to acquire such certification, one is expected to implement the ITIL network for the purpose of meeting the requirements of businesses. 

The prerequisite for taking the practitioner exam is being certified in ITIL foundation. Candidates are supposed to apply the knowledge acquired at the initial level in the real world. One can prepare for this exam by attending classroom lessons, online classes, or via self-study. You’re required to provide a correct response to 28 out of 40 questions in order to pass. 

Intermediate level

The intermediate stage consists of multiple modules that explore different areas of IT service management, classified into two main categories, those being Service Lifecycle and Capability. The former includes the modules related to service design, transition, strategy, operation, and continual improvement. Go to the following link,, to check out some examples of service strategy.

In contrast, the latter contains the Operational Support and Analysis (OSA); Planning, Protection, and Optimization (PPO); Release, Control, and Validation (RCV); and the Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA) module. Trainees can either choose a module from one category or both, depending on one’s experience in this field. Anyhow, bear in mind that you cannot take the intermediate exam unless you finish a training course. Self-studying is not an option when planning to obtain an Intermediate ITIL certification. 

Expert level

In order to earn an Expert certificate, one is expected to be knowledgeable in all disciplines of Information Technology Infrastructure Library. This certification is a pre-requisite for the Master certificate, requiring 22 credits on the part of trainees to qualify for the exam. 

In addition, the first seventeen credits are gradually acquired throughout the ITIL journey, obtained in the Foundation, Practitioner, and Intermediate stage. The rest of the credits are obtained by passing the MALC exam. 

Master level

The Master certification is the ultimate stage of the preparation for the world of IT service management. In order for a person to qualify for this level, he/she is expected to have obtained the Expert certification. The most effective way to prepare for the last stages is by completing a training course. There are numerous training companies offering ITIL courses in Belfast, helping individuals maximize their service management skills. It’s paramount to choose a reputable training company with accredited instructors for achieving successful results.

Moreover, trainees are required to have a minimum of five years’ experience in IT management. The Master certification is the costliest and the most challenging to complete, hence being suitable for serious applicants. The overall cost is charged after your initial application is accepted, as not everyone is eligible for this certificate.

Bottom line

Preparation is essential for each stage of the ITIL framework. 

Make sure you invest in a training course!

Corey is an all round tech guru who has worked at some major blue chip companies. He started Poweronemedia to share his views and knowledge with the rest of the blogging world.